My Xbox One faced a similar fate a couple of nights ago. I turned on my console for the first time in months only to be greeted by a 4.4GB system update. “Business as usual,” I thought, but after the update, my console would be rendered unusable. It thankfully powers on. However, it eventually loads to a black screen where all I can do is hold the Xbox button to turn the console off, restart it, or turn the controller off.

See the best PC games and best Xbox Game Pass PC games to play nowCheck out the Xbox Series X games and PS5 games confirmed so farThis is what we know about the Xbox Series X and PS5 so far

News of this issue has been circulating the internet for days. When I googled the problem a couple of nights ago, I noticed an article from Kotaku had been put up the previous day, and a Metro article that had been published even earlier. It was a bit shocking to learn that the update that bricked my Xbox One console has been live for days. Hope isn’t entirely lost, though. Microsoft has a guide on the Xbox Support website (opens in new tab) that will fix the console, but not without severe loss. This guide essentially teaches you how to factory reset your Xbox One, but this could erase accounts, saved games and settings. And even then, you’ll need a computer with working internet, USB ports, and an external drive to download system files onto. An Xbox Insider update from last week claimed this issue had been fixed (opens in new tab), but that’s clearly not case. It’s unfortunate that users are still being plagued by this issue, and it’s admittedly frustrating that I got stuck with a system-killing update when the internet has been aware of it for at least a week.

Careful when updating your Xbox One   The black screen of death has returned - 80Careful when updating your Xbox One   The black screen of death has returned - 86Careful when updating your Xbox One   The black screen of death has returned - 33